Best Free AI Agent Builder for Support
The best free AI agent builder for support depends on what you can publish, how much usage is included, and whether a person can take over. Compare the documented prices with what a support team needs: grounded answers, a human handoff, and a predictable bill.
What the documented options cost
A free label is not a full cost estimate. These entries show only the prices, allowances, or features established for each option.
Competitor prices shown are in dollars where stated; momo plans are sold in euros. Do not compare these figures as equivalent totals: the billing currencies and documented inclusions differ.
Free plans and real limits
Free plans: what can you actually publish?
For customer support, “free” needs to mean more than access to a builder. You need to know whether the plan lets you put an agent in front of visitors, how much usage it includes, what happens when it reaches a limit, and whether a person can take over an unresolved conversation. A visual canvas or a free AI credit can be useful, but neither tells you the whole operating cost.
The documented information for LiveChatAI lists a Free plan and paid plans from $39 per month, but does not state the free usage limits. Botpress is listed with a visual builder and $5 in monthly AI credit; the related conversation, seat, knowledge, and publishing allowances are not established. Botpress Plus and Team have stated subscription prices, with AI spend charged in addition. Chatfuel has a listed paid plan at $69 per month, but no free plan is established here. Chatbase is described as a no-code support knowledge-base chatbot, but a verified price and free allowance are not established.
That means these options cannot be ranked by free capacity from the documented details alone. Treat a stated subscription price as one part of the bill, not necessarily the total. With Botpress, for example, the Plus and Team prices are explicitly shown alongside AI spend, so actual usage adds a variable cost. For frameworks built and run by a business, plan price is only one consideration: hosting, integrations, monitoring, and maintenance may also need to be arranged. No reliable rates for those costs are established here, so a complete monthly total would be guesswork.
For a support team that wants a published widget and a shared place for human follow-up, the Free plan provides a concrete allowance: 30 AI conversations one time, one agent, and one team member. It also includes a website widget, a helpdesk inbox, basic analytics, and up to 2 MB of knowledge across up to 10 sources. The free plan carries the momo badge on the widget. That is a defined starting point, not a recurring monthly conversation allowance. On paid plans, an AI conversation can hold up to 25 AI replies; on Free, it can hold up to 10.
A useful first check is therefore operational: can the free plan publish the support experience you need, and can your team see and take over the conversations the AI cannot answer? Then ask which parts of the price are fixed and which depend on AI usage. Those answers matter more than the word “free” in a plan name.
How to compare a free AI agent builder for business use
Start by separating access to a builder from the ability to run a support experience. A visual canvas, free AI credit, and published website widget are different things; check which are actually included. Then confirm whether the free allowance is recurring or one-time, and whether it covers enough conversations for your expected traffic. For example, the free allowance here is 30 one-time AI conversations, with one agent and one team member. That is useful for testing a workflow, but it should not be treated as a monthly quota.
Next, check what happens when the AI is uncertain. A shared inbox gives a teammate a place to follow up, while grounded answers and cited sources can help the team review how the agent responded. Finally, compare the complete cost model rather than the headline plan price. Frameworks may also require arranging hosting, integrations, monitoring, and maintenance. These checks help business buyers compare the practical operating fit without assuming that every free plan offers the same publishing, usage, or handoff terms.
30
Free means 30 one-time AI conversations—not a monthly quota
The Free plan includes 30 AI conversations as a one-time allowance, not a monthly reset. The included helpdesk inbox gives a teammate a place to take over conversations that need a person. Check the allowance against your expected support traffic before publishing the widget.
Know the one-time allowance, team limit, and handoff route before you put the widget in front of customers.
Team-size costs
What it really costs as your support team grows
A useful worked total needs a real plan price and a known team limit. The following examples use the stated EUR prices and team-member allowances. They are plan comparisons, not estimates of AI demand: the conversation allowance you need depends on how many conversations your customers bring to the desk. The examples do not add an unverified hosting, model, or support charge.
For a solo operator, Starter is EUR 29 per month, or EUR 319 for a year. It includes two team members, one agent, 500 AI conversations per month, and the website widget and email channel. The annual amount follows the stated yearly billing rule: eleven times the monthly price. A solo operator could also start on Free, but its 30 conversations are one-time rather than monthly, so it is not a recurring monthly allowance.
For a five-person support team, Growth is EUR 129 per month or EUR 1,419 per year. The plan includes five team members, three agents, and 2,000 AI conversations per month. Growth also includes Slack, an API, Zapier and webhooks, plus advanced analytics. The team size fits the stated five-member allowance; the plan price does not change according to the number of resolutions.
For a ten-person team, Scale is EUR 399 per month or EUR 4,389 per year. It includes ten team members, ten agents, and 6,000 AI conversations per month. API, Zapier and webhooks, and advanced analytics are included. The annual figure is eleven monthly payments, rather than twelve.
These totals show the plan fee, not an assumed amount of usage beyond the included conversations. The flat-fee option has an included monthly AI conversation allowance; it does not charge per resolution or sell credit packs. If you compare this with Botpress, keep the two cost lines separate: Plus is listed at $79 monthly plus AI spend, and Team at $445 monthly plus AI spend. The subscription amount is not the final total unless you also know the AI spend. No model-use rate or reliable workload estimate is established here, so adding a made-up number would make the comparison less useful.
A predictable plan fee is worth considering when the repeated work is support questions that can be answered from your own content, and a human needs to handle exceptions. It is less helpful to compare a fixed fee with a free credit allowance as if both covered the same number of customer conversations. Check the allowance, the people who need inbox access, and the channels you need before choosing.
Support desk plans and included usage
Each paid plan has a flat fee and a monthly AI conversation allowance; annual billing is eleven times the monthly price. Compare the allowance with expected volume, then check whether the team-member and agent limits fit.
Included: A helpdesk inbox is included on every plan, including Free, so the team has a shared place to review support conversations. · Teammates can take over a conversation live; handoff collects the details your business chooses. This gives the team a route for questions the AI cannot resolve. · AI answers are grounded in your own content and cite sources when confident.
Free
Try momo with real visitors.
€0€0 forever
- 30 AI conversations, one-time
- 1 agent, 1 team member
- Website widget
- Helpdesk inbox
- Basic analytics
- 2 MB of knowledge, 10 sources
Starter
One agent, steady traffic.
€29€27per month
- 500 AI conversations / month
- 1 agent, 2 team members
- Website widget and email
- Helpdesk inbox and Help Center
- Basic analytics
- No momo badge
- 20 MB of knowledge, 50 sources
Growth
More agents, more channels.
€129€118per month
- 2,000 AI conversations / month
- 3 agents, 5 team members
- Slack, Shopify, WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger
- API, Zapier and webhooks
- Advanced analytics
- 100 MB of knowledge, 200 sources
Scale
High volume, every channel.
€399€366per month
- 6,000 AI conversations / month
- 10 agents, 10 team members
- Every channel
- API, Zapier and webhooks
- Advanced analytics
- 500 MB of knowledge, 1,000 sources
Need more resources or custom solutions? Contact us for Enterprise plans
Questions about free AI support builders
Check the difference between a free builder, a free allowance, and the cost of running a support desk.
Can I build and publish a customer-support AI agent for free?
Some options are listed with free access, but the documented terms do not establish the same publishing or usage limits for each one. LiveChatAI is listed as Free, while its free usage limits are not stated; Botpress is listed with a visual builder and $5 monthly AI credit, but its associated free-plan limits are not established. The Free plan includes a website widget and inbox, plus 30 one-time AI conversations.
Does Botpress charge for AI usage separately from its plan?
Yes. Botpress Plus is listed at $79 per month plus AI spend, and Team at $445 per month plus AI spend. The subscription figure is therefore separate from the AI usage cost, and the total depends on that spend.
Which free AI agent builder is easiest for a nontechnical support team?
The documented details do not establish a defensible easiest-builder winner across the options. Botpress has a drag-and-drop canvas, while LiveChatAI is described as a no-code support platform; that does not establish equivalent free-plan limits. For a support team, compare the workflow you need, the available human handoff, and the allowance before deciding.
Which AI agent builder gives developers the most flexibility?
For a developer-led build, Botpress lists a code editor and custom logic alongside its visual builder. Building with APIs and LLMs is another route, but it requires arranging the surrounding hosting, integrations, monitoring, and maintenance. Compare these setup responsibilities with the flexibility your team actually needs.
When does a free AI support agent stop being practical for a business?
It stops fitting when the free allowance or team limit no longer covers the support work, or when the plan does not provide the handoff and channels your team needs. Its Free allowance is 30 one-time AI conversations, so recurring traffic may call for a paid monthly allowance. Compare that need with the plan’s fixed fee and included conversation volume.
Try a support desk with a shared inbox
Start on momo Free with a website widget, 30 one-time AI conversations, and a human inbox for the questions that need your team.